Northwestern honors employees

Northwestern College honored numerous employees at a banquet on Monday, May 6. Faculty and staff were recognized for their years of service and accomplishments.

Three new retirees were recognized: Jeff Taylor, 33 years as a theatre professor, Dr. Doug Carlson, 23 years as a history professor and associate dean for global education; and Sue Taylor, 12 years as government regulations specialist.

Deb Wassink, student accounts manager, and Roger Ewoldt, accountant, were both honored for 35 years of service to Northwestern.

Four employees were honored for 30 years of service: Dr. Earl Woudstra, professor of kinesiology; Barry Brandt, director of athletics; Lee Hofland, maintenance assistant/housekeeper; and Pam Vlieger, printing services manager.

Those honored for 25 years of service were Jeff Barker, NWC endowed professor of theatre and speech; Karen Bohm Barker, professor of theatre and speech; Monte Golden, housekeeper; Dr. Tim Lubben, associate professor of chemistry; Dr. Byron Noordewier, professor of biology; Karen Vander Pol, athletic department assistant; and Dr. Joel Westerholm, professor of English.

Dave Hulsart, assistant softball coach, and Dr. Kim Jongerius, professor of mathematics, were honored for 20 years of service.

Honored for 15 years of service were Kyle Achterhoff, head football coach; Marlon Haverdink, director of residence life; Harold Hoftyzer, Northwestern Fund coordinator; Kris Korver, head men’s basketball coach; Janette Reuter, comptroller; and Ward Van Peursem, grounds supervisor.

Those honored for 10 years of service to Northwestern were Kirsten Brue, career counselor; Anita Cirulis, associate director of public relations; Dr. Laurie Daily, assistant professor of education; Pam De Haan, lecturer in music; Dr. Laird Edman, professor of psychology; Dr. Sally Oakes Edman, director of counseling services; Dr. Jennifer Feenstra, associate professor of psychology; Dr. Juyeon Kang, associate professor of music; Jay Reeve, lecturer in music; Bruce Roetman, campus carpenter; Matt Schmidt, head athletic trainer; the Rev. Harlan VanOort, chaplain; and Deb Wolthuizen, mailroom supervisor.

Awards for five years of service were presented to Mitch Aalbers, assistant football coach; Kyle Blankers, assistant track coach and admissions counselor; Brittany Caffey, resident director of Hospers Hall; Dr. Karissa Carlson, assistant professor of chemistry; Greg Christy, president; Katherine Coyle, instructor in nursing; Rik Dahl, head wrestling coach; Andrea Donahoe, online lecturer in psychology; Julie Dragstra, instructor in nursing; Michael Dykstra, administrative web programmer; Ray Gibler, assistant professor of accounting; Maureen Hansen, lecturer in sociology; Patrick Hummel, director of missions; Tyler Knobloch, offensive coordinator for football; Chad Miller, lab coordinator; Luke Perry, admissions counselor; Dan Swier, head men’s soccer coach; Brent Town, assistant football coach; Bev VanDe Griend, advancement support services coordinator; and Rachelle Wiersma, instructor in English.