Northwestern honors employees

Northwestern College honored 48 employees at its annual Spring Recognition Banquet, which was held on Monday, April 30. Faculty and staff were recognized for their years of service and accomplishments at the banquet, which was organized by the Faculty/Staff Welfare Committee.

Barbara Turnwall, assistant professor of English, was recognized as a new retiree. She has been teaching at Northwestern since 1966.

Dr. Ron Juffer, professor of education, was honored for 45 years of service.

Those honored for serving 25 years were Duane Beeson, director of public relations; Susan De Haan, lecturer in music; and Deborah Menning, instructor in English.

Aletha Beeson, advancement events coordinator; Laura Heitritter, instructor in education; Harlan Jorgensen, director of computing services; and Dr. Jeff VanDerWerff, professor of political science, were honored for 20 years of service.

Five were honored for 15 years of service: Dr. John Brogan, dean of students; Rick Clark, instructor in Spanish; Glenda De Vries, bookstore manager; Mary Oldenkamp, clerical assistant; and Kim Van Es, lecturer in English.

Awards for 10 years of service were presented to Mary Beltman, advancement support services assistant; Doug Beukelman, vice president for financial affairs; Herb Bruxvoort, lawn care assistant; Dr. Ruth Daumer, associate professor of nursing; Linda Gude, lecturer in music; Dr. Bob Hubbard, professor of theatre; Sandie Kinsinger, instructor of psychology; Paul Kurtzleben, physical plant technician; Nancy Landhuis, Career Development Center program coordinator; Jolynn Oliver, instructor in education; Dan Robinson, web development manager; Deb Sandbulte, director of human resources; Rachel Te Grootenhuis, spiritual formation executive assistant; Karen Van Der Maaten, faculty assistant and bookstore assistant; Kathleen Waldo, lecturer in modern foreign languages; Mike Wallinga, director of institutional research; and Dr. Dan Young, associate professor of political science.

Those honored for five years of service included Debbie Bomgaars, instructor of nursing; Joan Brower, lecturer in art; Arnold Carlson, assistant professor of art; Seth Currier, director of service learning; Dr. Luke Dahn, assistant professor of music; Bonnie De Jong, student teacher supervisor; Andrea Donahoe, instructor of psychology; Dr. Beverly Gibson, lecturer in music; Greta Grond, systems librarian; Tina Jansen, computing services help desk manager; Dr. Kevin McMahan, associate dean for intercultural affairs; Ann VanderKooi Minnick, assistant professor of communications; Austin Nyhof, associate registrar; Heather Sas, acquisitions and serials coordinator; Karin Swanson, lecturer in music; Tom Truesdell, director of academic support; and Michelle Van Wyhe, instructor of nursing and nurse practitioner.