Eight named Peale Scholars

Eight incoming freshmen at Northwestern College—from Colorado, Iowa, Minnesota and Nebraska—have been selected to receive Norman Vincent Peale Scholarships. Each student will receive a total of $60,000 over four years at Northwestern from the prestigious Peale Scholarship, which is awarded on the basis of exceptional academic abilities, Christian commitment and leadership skills. 

The new Peale Scholars include Abbie Goldschmid of Colorado Springs, Colo.; Kyler Goodwin of Omaha, Neb.; Shane Jones of Edina, Minn., Sarah Knuth of Bondurant, Iowa; Jill Lemke, Orange City, Iowa; Kaela Pracher of Milford, Iowa; Payton Strawser of Bettendorf, Iowa; and Sarah Tillotson of Westcliffe, Colo.

The winners were selected from over 260 students who participated in a scholarship competition in January and February. The competition included interview and writing components. Northwestern College faculty, staff and students evaluated them on the basis of their potential for academic success, leadership and effective Christian service.

Criteria for the Peale Scholarship candidates included a ranking within the top 10 percent of their high school class or a minimum 3.7 grade point average, and a minimum ACT score of 27.

The Peale Scholarships were established by the late Mr. and Mrs. Homer Surbeck of Atherton, Calif., who were close friends of Dr. and Mrs. Peale. Dr. Peale, who died in 1993 at the age of 95, was pastor of Marble Collegiate Church in New York City from 1932-84 and author of 46 books, including “The Power of Positive Thinking.” He has been called the most influential Protestant clergyman in the U.S. Ruth Stafford Peale, chairman of the board emeritus and co-founder of Guideposts magazine, died in 2008 at the age of 101.