Chamber ensembles to present concert

Northwestern College’s Brass Quintet and String Quartet will perform a wide variety of music at a concert on Friday, May 2, at 7:30 p.m. in Christ Chapel. The performance is free and open to the public.

The concert will feature six pieces performed by the Brass Quintet. Grand Valley Fanfare, by Eric Ewazen, will be performed as will Michael Kamen’s Quintet. Sonata from an anonymous composer’s Die Bänkelsängerlieder will be presented as well.

The String Quartet will then play four movements from Franz Joseph Haydn’s String Quartet Op. 76 No. 1.

The Brass Quintet will resume performing three additional pieces. Oliver Holden’s All Hail the Power of Jesus Name, arranged by Paul Edwards, will be followed by Ingo Luis’s arrangement of Laura, composed by David Raksin. The concert will conclude with James Johnson’s Charleston, arranged by Paul Nagle.  

Members of the Brass Quintet are Anthony Ebert on horn, Josh Van Der Maaten on trombone, Zack Wolf on tuba, and trumpeters Dan Mangold and Laura Rensink. The String Quartet is comprised of Alex Spreigl on viola, Eunice Paik on cello, and violinists Samuel Lim and Aubrey Weger. All of the members of both ensembles receive a music scholarship from Northwestern.

The Brass Quintet is directed by Dr. Tim McGarvey, professor of music at Northwestern. He earned a Doctor of Musical Arts degree in wind conducting from the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music, a Master of Music degree in instrumental conducting at Western Michigan, and a bachelor’s degree in music education at Taylor University in Indiana.

Lee Thorson directs the String Quintet. Thorson is an adjunct cello instructor who earned a Master of Music degree from the University of Arizona and a bachelor’s degree in music education from Morningside College. He also serves as an adjunct faculty member at Buena Vista University.