NWC honors longtime employees

Forty-two longtime Northwestern College employees were honored at the college’s Spring Recognition Banquet on April 19.

One recent retiree was recognized for her service. Elaine Hofland retired in December after 27 years as the mailroom supervisor.

Dr. Kimberly Utke Svanoe, associate professor of music, received a 30-year service award.

Awards for 25 years of service were given to Dr. Carl Vandermeulen, professor of English and communications, and Dr. Mike Yoder, professor of sociology/anthropology.

Three faculty members were recognized for 20 years: Cheryl Buntsma, lecturer in kinesiology; Sue De Haan, lecturer in music; and Deb Menning, instructor in English.

Fifteen-year awards were presented to Aletha Beeson, alumni and parent relations assistant; Richard Bogenrief, lecturer in music; John Greller, vice president for advancement; Laura Heitritter, instructor in education; Harlan Jorgensen, director of computing services; Vance Shoemaker, lecturer in music; Dr. Jeff VanDerWerff, associate professor of political science; and Dr. Marc Wooldridge, associate professor of music.

Ten-year awards were presented to Dr. John Brogan, vice president for student development; Rick Clark, instructor in Spanish and assistant men’s basketball coach; Glenda De Vries, bookstore manager; Soni Huffman, academic support professional assistant; Carrie Krohn, former sports information assistant; and Robin McFarland, instructor in theatre and speech.

Twenty-one people received five-year awards: Carrie Anderson, former public relations assistant; Mary Beltman, advancement support services assistant; Doug Beukelman, vice president for financial affairs; Pat Bruxvoort, housekeeper; Dr. Jan Carrell, assistant professor of business; Melynda Cordry, lecturer in physics; Dr. Sean Cordry, associate professor of physics; Dr. Ruth Daumer, associate professor of nursing; Linda Gude, lecturer in music; Dr. Bob Hubbard, associate professor of theatre; and Sara James, resident director.

Also: Sharon Kleis, lecturer in education; Paul Kurtzleben, physical plant technician; Nancy Landhuis, Career Development Center program coordinator; Dr. Linell Moss, lecturer in music; Jolynn Oliver, instructor in education; Bob Reynen, director of church relations; Dan Robinson, web development manager; Rachel Te Grootenhuis, spiritual formation and vocation executive assistant; Kathleen Waldo, lecturer in modern foreign languages; and Dr. Dan Young, assistant professor of political science.