Five students chosen for Iowa Collegiate Honor Band

Five members of the Northwestern College Symphonic Band were selected recently to be part of the 100-member Iowa Collegiate Honor Band.

The honor band, composed of the best woodwind, brass and percussion students from 14 colleges and universities throughout the state, gathered at Iowa State University Nov. 17–18. In conjunction with the Iowa Music Educators Association conference, the band presented a concert under the direction of Thomas Leslie, director of bands at the University of Nevada at Los Vegas.

The Northwestern honorees were nominated by Dr. Timothy McGarvey, associate professor of music. Selected were Jill Bowman, a senior biology health professions major from Britt, Iowa, on oboe; French horn player Anthony Ebert, a junior music major from Grinnell, Iowa; Titus Landegent, a senior modified music and elementary education major from Sioux Center, on percussion; clarinetist Stacie Oolman, a junior accounting and business administration major from Orange City; and Josh Van Der Maaten, a sophomore religion major from Orange City, on trombone.