Northwestern honors longtime employees

Fifteen longtime Northwestern College employees were honored at the college’s Spring Recognition Banquet on April 20.

Two retiring employees were recognized for their service. They are Sherri DeBoom, lecturer in French, who joined the college in 1986; and Beth De Leeuw, administrative assistant to the president since 1977.

Mark Bloemendaal, director of admissions, and Dale Thompson, assistant vice president for student development/operations, received 25-year service awards.

A 20-year award was given to Duane Beeson, director of public relations.

Ten-year awards were presented to Eric Anderson, associate dean for student development/residence life; Aletha Beeson, alumni and parent relations assistant; Mel Elsberry, assistant football coach; Sharon McGarvey, lecturer in education; Mary Oldenkamp, clerical assistant for the comptroller’s and registrar’s offices; Lisa Tesch, maintenance assistance; Lori Vander Molen, development support services coordinator; Anna Vorhes,  lecturer in music; Mary Lou Wielenga, lecturer in music; and Brad Zeutenhorst, assistant football coach.