Incoming students win Peale Scholarships

Eight incoming freshmen at Northwestern College—from Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska and South Dakota—have been selected to receive Norman Vincent Peale Scholarships. Each student will receive a total of $48,000 over four years at Northwestern from the prestigious Peale Scholarship, which is awarded on the basis of exceptional academic abilities, Christian commitment and leadership skills.

“The students selected as Peale Scholars demonstrate a significant depth of Christian commitment, leadership and academic ability,” says Mark Bloemendaal, Northwestern’s director of admissions. “I always enjoy the Peale competition, because it brings to campus so many talented young people who possess the qualities we are seeking in our students. Each participant has the potential to make a great contribution to this campus.”

The Peale Scholarship winners are: Kristen Burghorn of Otley, Iowa; Ingrid Grace Carlson, Sanborn, Iowa; Blaine Crawford of Beloit, Kan.; Anne Eberline, Grundy Center, Iowa; Shauna Ell of Mitchell, S.D.; Rachel Fisher, LaVista, Neb.; Lindsey Haskins of Pierre, S.D.; and Hannah Watters, Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

This year’s winners have an average ACT score of 30. They include student council officers; volunteers for nonprofit organizations; students who have earned honors in science, speech and music competitions; and all-conference athletes.

One-hundred thirteen students applied for the Peale Scholarships. Seventy-seven finalists, representing 10 states, were on campus in February for interviews and a writing competition.

Criteria for the Peale Scholar candidates included a ranking within the top 15 percent of their high school class or a minimum 3.5 grade point average, and a minimum ACT score of 26.

The Peale Scholarships were established by the late Mr. and Mrs. Homer Surbeck of Atherton, Calif., who were close friends of Norman Vincent Peale and his wife, Ruth Stafford Peale. Dr. Peale, who died in 1993 at the age of 95, was pastor of Marble Collegiate Church in New York City from 1932-84 and author of 46 books, including “The Power of Positive Thinking.”