Northwestern names Forgette associate academic dean

Dr. Adrienne Forgette, associate professor of psychology at Northwestern College, has been appointed associate dean for academic affairs. She will begin her new duties this summer.

Forgette, who has been serving for the last two years as interim associate dean of assessment and accreditation, will have main responsibilities in the areas of curriculum, faculty development and assessment.

“Adrienne has contributed much to this community already, and we’re looking forward to working with her in this new role,” says Dr. Jasper Lesage, vice president for academic affairs. “She has a good understanding of and commitment to the mission of Northwestern College. She has the confidence of the faculty through their experience with her in the past 11 years, and she has demonstrated leadership in administrative work in the areas of assessment, accreditation and new faculty orientation.”

Forgette led the committee of faculty, staff and students that developed Northwestern’s self-study for reaccreditation by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association. “Her work on the self-study was exemplary,” says Lesage, “and played a significant role in the very positive report we received from evaluators who were on campus last fall.”

Dr. Doug Carlson, professor of history, will continue in his role as associate dean for multi-cultural affairs and off-campus programs. “I’m looking forward to working with Adrienne and Doug as a team to serve faculty and students,” says Lesage. “I also want to express thanks to the other interim associate deans who have served over the last two years, Dr. Sara Tolsma in faculty development and Dr. Kim Jongerius in curriculum.”

Forgette joined Northwestern’s faculty in 1995 after earning her doctorate in clinical psychology from Fuller Theological Seminary’s Graduate School of Psychology. She also holds a master’s degree in theology from Fuller and a bachelor’s in psychology from California State University, Fullerton. She serves as the faculty representative to Northwestern’s Board of Trustees and chairperson of the psychology department.