Faculty honors and awards

Just as important as what you learn is who you learn from. Northwestern professors are dedicated teachers and committed Christians who have studied around the world and earned degrees from a list of institutions that includes Duke, Princeton, UCLA and Yale. They also contribute to their fields as renowned scholars and researchers, earning honors and awards like these:

Dr. Laird Edman
Selected as one of 25 international faculty members to participate in a series of research seminars on science and religion in Oxford, England in 2015

Dr. Jennifer Feenstra
Received a $10,000 Northwestern College Endowed Research Fellowship grant in 2015 to continue work she began while in Romania as a Fulbright Scholar in 2011

Dr. Laura Furlong
Received a $10,000 Northwestern College Endowed Research Fellowship grant to fund her research on the Santa Cruz and Santa Rosa island ecosystems in 2014

Dr. Robert Hubbard
Inducted into the Minot State University Academic Hall of Fame for his exceptional work in directing, producing, stage adaptations and one-man shows in 2014

Dr. Heather Josselyn-Cranson
Editor of For All the Saints: A Calendar of Commemorations, in 2013. Winner of hymn writing contest sponsored by Southern Methodist University's Perkins School of Theology in 2014 

Dr. Juyeon Kang
Performed a solo recital at Carnegie Hall in 2013

Dr. Mike Kugler
Contributed chapter to Frankenstein and Philosophy: The Shocking Truth as part of Open Court Publishing's philosophy and popular culture series in 2013

Dr. Samuel Martin

Named a Mullin Scholar in 2013 by the University of Southern California, Martin was long-listed for the 2014 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award for his novel, A Blessed Snarl. Martin also received a $5,000 Northwestern College Endowed Research Fellowship grant in 2015 to begin work on his third novel

Dr. Jackie Smallbones
Published memoir, Knit Together: Many Colors, One Life, in 2014