Experts guide for news media

Biology

Sara Sybesma Tolsma, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
stolsma@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7278

Source for stories on genetic technologies

Business

Ray Gibler, M.Acc.
Associate Professor of Accounting
rgibler@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7318

Source for stories on federal income taxes

Education

Laurie J. Daily, Ed.D.
Associate Professor of Education; Department Chair
ldaily@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7368

Source for stories on educating students with disabilities

Rebecca Hoey, Ed.D.
Director of Online Learning
rebecca.hoey@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7388

Source for stories on adult education and online learning

Health Care/Nursing

Ruth Dankanich Daumer, Ed.D.
Associate Professor of Nursing; Department Chair
rdaumer@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7086

Source for stories on nursing education, parish (or faith community) nursing, spiritual health, health-related missions, public health, health care ethics, health care leadership, service learning, health care issues/trends/reform, nursing/health care research and evidence-based practice

Hispanics

Piet J. Koene, M.A.
Associate Professor of Spanish, Translation & Interpreting; Department Chair
koene@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7051

Source for stories on translation and interpretation, Hispanic/Latino culture

Politics

Jeffrey A. VanDerWerff, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
jvdw@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7074

Source for stories on the intersection of politics and religion

Religion

John Hubers, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Religion
john.hubers@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7306

Source for stories on Christian-Muslim relations, Islam, interfaith relations and Christian Zionism (Christians and Israel)

Heather Josselyn-Cranson, Th.D.
Associate Professor of Music; Director of Music Ministries
hjossely@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7193

Source for stories on various traditions of Christian worship

Social entrepreneurship

David Befus, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Business
david.befus@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7203

Source for stories on social entrepreneurship

Sports medicine/psychology

Jennifer J. Rogers, M.S.Ed.
Instructor in Kinesiology; Athletic Training Program Director
jrogers@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7307

Source for stories on the prevention of sports injuries, teaching athletic training, obesity in America as it relates to the perception of individuals based on body type

Worship and storytelling

Jeff Barker, M.F.A.
Northwestern College Endowed Professor of Theatre and Speech; Department Chair
barker@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7093

Source for stories on storytelling in worship, student playwriting, performing the Bible


Encourage high school students to give NWC a look by putting our money behind your message with Northwestern’s Red Recruiter Scholarship. Learn more

Upcoming events
Nov10
-
Dec 12
Art
Dec03
Blood Drive 10:30 a.m.
Activities
Dec04
Blood Drive 10:30 a.m.
Activities
Dec06
Music
Winter Formal 10:00 p.m.
Activities