Experts guide for news media

Biology

Sara Sybesma Tolsma, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
stolsma@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7278

Expert in genetic technologies

Education

Laurie J. Daily, Ed.D.
Associate Professor of Education; Department Chair
ldaily@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7368

Expert in educating students with disabilities

Rebecca Hoey, Ed.D.
Director of Online Learning
rebecca.hoey@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7388

Expert in adult education and online learning

Health Care/Nursing

Ruth Dankanich Daumer, Ed.D.
Associate Professor of Nursing; Department Chair
rdaumer@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7086

Expert in nursing education, parish (or faith community) nursing, spiritual health, health-related missions, public health, health care ethics, health care leadership, service learning, health care issues/trends/reform, nursing/health care research and evidence-based practice

Hispanics

Piet J. Koene, M.A.
Associate Professor of Spanish, Translation & Interpreting; Department Chair
koene@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7051

Expert in translation and interpretation, Hispanic/Latino culture

Politics

Jeffrey A. VanDerWerff, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
jvdw@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7074

Expert on the intersection of politics and religion

Religion

John Hubers, Ph.D.
Instructor in Religion
john.hubers@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7306

Expert in Christian-Muslim relations, Islam, interfaith relations and Christian Zionism (Christians and Israel)

Heather Josselyn-Cranson, Th.D.
Associate Professor of Music; Director of Music Ministries
hjossely@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7193

Expert in various traditions of Christian worship

Social entrepreneurship

David Befus, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Business
david.befus@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7203

Expert on social entrepreneurship

Sports medicine/psychology

Jennifer J. Rogers, M.S.Ed.
Instructor in Kinesiology; Athletic Training Program Director
jrogers@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7307

Expert in prevention of sports injuries, teaching athletic training, obesity in America as it relates to the perception of individuals based on body type

Worship and storytelling

Jeff Barker, M.F.A.
Northwestern College Endowed Professor of Theatre and Speech; Department Chair
barker@nwciowa.edu
712-707-7093

Expert on storytelling in worship, student playwriting, performing the Bible

Encourage high school students to give NWC a look by putting our money behind your message with Northwestern’s Red Recruiter Scholarship. Learn more

Upcoming events
Aug26
-
Sep 19
Art
Sep03
Activities
Sep04
Activities
Sep05
Slime Fight 5:00 p.m.
Activities
Sep06
Music